Oh yeah. I was a proud owner of some inflatable furniture in my prime (and yes, by prime I mean in elementary school when I thought it was awesome) and my blue chair went right next to my green lava lamp (which I was also mistaken for thinking that was awesome as well). When I became an undergrad, I would occasionally think back to those marshmellow-y …things… and reminisce. However, the days of inflatable chairs were long gone and my generation matured to bigger and better things…the bean bag chair. Now, if you would, please join me on the path called memory lane and let’s now think back to the days when you could slide off of your chair (not sink into it) and think about how cool it would be to own a more sophisticated and illuminating version. Now, you’re thinking about Via Lattea by Mario Bellini.

According to Meritalia, the furniture is made of a “lightweight stainless steel mesh of the industrial filters, and the materials in recycled fibres used in construction or for the transportation of sugar, grains or stones are extremely low-cost and high-pressure technical materials.”

I’m not entirely sure of the cost because apparently after graduating, I have lost some of my vital researching skills but these pieces seem pretty priceless to me. They’re eco-friendly. They’re light weight and so they are easier to move around the room if you get bored with your current rooms feng shui. They have little low wattage lights inside so that they emit different colors which would be fantastic if you throw parties or just want to pretend you’re at a VIP night club. And last but certainly not least, it looks as though you could play a pretty great game of real world Tetris with the pieces if you were bored. Jackpot.

Practical? I’m not too sure

Snazzy? Absolutely


