Along with reading blogs upon blogs, I also enjoy reading actual physical books that can be held in your hands. Weird right? I almost forgot what those were myself.

Currently, I’ve been reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan. I, personally, like this book MUCH more than his other work, In the Defense of Food. I’m only about halfway done with it so far but I highly recommend it, especially the section labeled “Big Organic”. It really has opened my eyes to some of the myths and issues with the labels “organic”, “ultra pasteurized” and “cage-free”…

I decided to read this book at my local coffee shop with a cup of brew and that is when I found that I am a victim (perhaps you could call me a sucker…I just prefer the term victim). I’m one of “those” people who believe packaging without doing the sufficient amount of research (yeah yeah, I have my degree in advertising and I fell for it) and I was taken. I was a victim of was the whole idea of buying eggs from “Cage-free hens”.

On pg. 140, Pollan explains that when he went to visit “Rosie the organic chicken” aside from being fed certified organic feed, she isn’t raised much differently than any other chicken. In fact, the free-range lifestyle which is promised on the label, is pretty much rubbish to me. “There’s a little door in the shed leading out to a narrow grassy yard. But the free-range story seems a bit of a stretch when you discover that the door remains firmly shut until the birds are at least five or six weeks old – for fear they’ll catch something outside – and the chickens are slaughtered only two weeks later”

Seriously? Seriously…

Now, I’m not telling you that these companies are not making steps towards changing the way products are handled/grown/raised but I have learned that it certainly pays to do your research. I highly suggest this book to anyone who is interested in finding out more about the meat you are eating, just what products contain corn (you’d be surprised), or merely about the growth and change of the organic companies.

Since I’m only about halfway done, I can almost guarantee another post about the topics Pollan poses. I’ll keep you updated and you can go on this wonderful literary journey with me.

Something to leave you with to ponder: “Artificial manures lead inevitably to artificial nutrition, artificial food, artificial animals and finally to artificial men and women” (pg. 148)

Book Review

